Tuesday, 12 April 2011

Short List has been announced!

London, 9.30am, 12 April 2011: The Orange Prize for Fiction, the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman, today announces the 2011 shortlist. Celebrating its sixteenth anniversary this year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.
  • Emma Donoghue (Irish) - Room; Picador; 7th Novel
  • Aminatta Forna (British/Sierra Leonean) - The Memory of Love; Bloomsbury; 2nd Novel
  • Emma Henderson (British) - Grace Williams Says it Loud; Sceptre; 1st Novel
  • Nicole Krauss (American) - Great House; Viking; 3rd Novel
  • Téa Obreht (Serbian/American) - The Tiger’s Wife; Weidenfeld & Nicolson; 1st Novel
  • Kathleen Winter (Canadian) - Annabel; Jonathan Cape; 1st Novel
The Telegraph Book News, which includes links to the Telegraph's reviews of each shortlisted title.

The Guardian Culture/Books

1 comment:

  1. Well, I only managed to predict two in my previous post...but they didn't make the list anyway. All of these books are so highly acclaimed. I was hoping for a dark horse. Ah well!

    I'm glad to see 'Annabel' made the list, which I was actually going to add my earlier post. I really enjoyed Jeffrey Euginides' 'Middlesex'-- not to say they will be anything alike, but it did come to mind. Surely there aren't that many books about hermaphrodites out there.